
SYDNEY HARBOUR REGATTA 2024 

PROTEST COMMITTEE DECISION     Case No: 1  With Case(s):          Race: 1 
 

PARTIES 

Boat or Committee or Person Class/Fleet Represented By/Not Present 

Renaissance  Craig Carless 

Ambitious  David Matthews 

Impulse  Derek Minihane 
 

WITNESSES 
Name Boat – Committee - Role 

Gary Carless Renaissance 

Bill Nock Ambitious 

Kirk Hendzlik Impulse 

Valid – Yes 

Case Introduction:  
 
Contact at the start line between 3 boats causing damage. 
 
Procedural Matters: (Conflicts of Interest, parties not present, extending time limits) 
 
Kerry Bourke attended as an observer (crew on Renaissance) 
 
At the time of the incident it was obvious to Ambitious that serious damage. Nevertheless, 
Renaissance failed to attempt to inform Ambitious/Impulse of the protest within the protest time 
limit, as required by RRS 61.1(a)(4). 
 
After the hearing, the protest committee decided that it had made a significant error during the 
hearing and a reopening was scheduled for 3 March 2024 (RRS 66.1). 
 
At the reopened hearing a conclusion was added (8) and the decision regarding Impulse was 
amended. 
 

Facts found: 

1. Wind was approximately 15-20 knots with choppy sea-state. 
2. Renaissance to leeward of Impulse, to leeward of Ambitious – boats on starboard 

approaching the start. 
3. Renaissance would pass close to the start boat. 
4. Renaissance luffed to close the gap to the start boat and Impulse tacked to avoid Renaissance 

and the start boat causing contact with Ambitious. 
5. The contact between Impulse and Ambitious caused Ambitious to bare away and hit 

Renaissance where Ambitious’ bow pierced the starboard stern quarter of Renaissance. 
6. Renaissance retired. 
7. Impulse took a penalty turn. 

 
  



SYDNEY HARBOUR REGATTA 2024 
Conclusion & Rules:  

1. After passing head to wind and before being on a close-hauled course, Impulse failed to 
keep clear of Ambitious. Impulse broke RRS 13. 

2. Impulse did not avoid contact when it was reasonably possible, and broke RRS 14. 
3. It was not reasonably possible for Ambitious, the right-of-way boat to avoid contact with 

Impulse when it was clear that Impulse was not keeping clear. Ambitious did not break RRS 
14. 

4. Ambitious to windward failed to keep clear of Renaissance to leeward, and broke RRS 11. 
5. Since Ambitious was compelled to break RRS 11 as a consequence of Impulse breaking RRS 

13, she is exonerated under RRS 43.1(a) for this breach. 
6. It was not reasonably possible for Renaissance, the right-of-way boat to avoid contact with 

Ambitious when it was clear that Ambitious was not keeping clear. Renaissance did not 
break RRS 14. 

7. Renaissance’s score in races 1 and 2 was made significantly worse through no fault of her 
own by physical damage because of an action of Impulse that resulted in a penalty under 
Part 2. 

8. Since Impulse caused serious damage by her breach, her penalty was to retire as required 
by RRS 44.1(b).  Impulse did not retire (but took a penalty turn), breaking RRS 44.1(b). 

Decision:  
 

1. Impulse to be scored DSQ in race1.  
2. Redress is given to Renassaince. Renaissance is to be scored in races 1 and 2, points 

equal to the average, rounded to the nearest tenth of a point (0.05 to be rounded upward), 
of her points in all races sailed. 

 

Request to Withdraw: 
 

Request Approved: 

Protest Committee:                                                                          International Jury: No 
Name Erica Kirby NJ (Chair), Penny Dilworth RJ, Rob Armstrong, John Crawford 
 
Signed:  Erica Kirby   Date, time:  3 March 2024 11am 

  
 


